Skip navigation

A trip to visit my aunt in Michigan brought into my possession a bird clock.  Walking through the clock section of a store, I saw it, and my father’s interest in its uniqueness along with my passion for birds convinced him to open the wallet and swipe the card.  The clock is birdish, in that at each of the twelve spots where a number would be, is an illustration of a friendly songbird.  On each hour, the bird chosen by the hour hand sings his song.  It  is a magical experience, and though others warn me that its novelty with fade away into annoyingness, I cannot see that in my future.

16 Comments

  1. OH MY GOSH. We have a clock just like that in our basement but the birds don’t sing anymore. My Grandma used to have one back when she lived in Chesterland, but I don’t know what happened to it. What I do remember, is that the owl got really annoying at noon. My mom recently got a grandfather/chime clock and it’s in out dining room. (It’s pretty annoying because it’s always off like twenty minutes.) Last time my aunt was here, she decided to clean our whole house when my parents were gone, and she tried to wind it and temporarily broke it.

    I am through with my chroniker anecdotes.

  2. And I thought I was special… What birds are on yours?

  3. I’m sorry to make you feel unspecial. Anyway, after some additional observation, I have concluded that some time back, we inherited my grandmother’s clock, but hers only makes noise at twelve… my favorite time. Anyway, I really don’t want to go downstairs to check what birds represent the hours. It’s dark and creepy and the hoodlums come out at this hour (This is what happens when I listen to certain people talk about horror movies five times a week, twice a day.)

  4. Samuel, please post on your freaking blog. It’s be nice if you did every once and a frog. The lemurs may track down “your” body and ceremoniously bury some random kid in a grey sweatshirt and Chucks.

    • Do you mean comment, or actually post?

        • Madeleine
        • Posted May 4, 2011 at 5:54 pm
        • Permalink

        POOOOOSSSSSST.

  5. SAM. Did you know that your name is in the word “hamster?”

    • I would have known that, but I can’t say I’ve thought of it.

        • Madeleine
        • Posted May 4, 2011 at 5:55 pm
        • Permalink

        I was thinking of it the other day because I write the word so much and I looked at it and it was like, “Ooooh. Sam. te-he.” Okay. Maybe it wasn’t exactly like that.

  6. SAAAAAAAAAAM. I daresay this is considered spam. SPAM. Yum. I eat spam through my nose.

    • I feel sorry for your nose. Narwhals grow a mystical horn out of one nostril. My name is in the word spam too. Did you know that the origin of the word spam in this context comes from the Monty Python play Spamalot, where in one part a bunch of people march around just saying “spam” a lot?

  7. My nose appreciates your sympathy. Mr. McNaull does not treat his hole puncher (named after Moi) like it has feelings.

    I’m not sure I believe that. It seems like something one says to a stupid person like myself.

  8. I feel as if I should comment on this, but today I’m in a rambling mood.. sooo, should I not? Nah, nevermind I will.. The clock itself sounds intresting it kind of makes me want to buy one… but I don’t really need another clock .. but I think it would get rather annoying after a while but that’s my opinion and you’re THEE SAM so I it will be different in your case 🙂

  9. Wonderful input as always, Cheyenne. Rambling moods are brilliant. Bird clocks are just as nice.

  10. That’s “Mr. THEE SAM, sir” to you.


Leave a Reply

