Skip navigation

I glanced over at the map on my wall and noticed that there is a city in Russia called Nizhniy Novgorod.  It is actually the fourth largest city in Russia, according to Wikipedia.  I seriously had to wonder what kind of person came up with that name.  I concluded that a Russian came up with it.

I guess the Cyrillic spelling is Нижний Новгород, at least according to Google Translator.  And Nizhniy means “lower,” though Novgorod just means Novgorod.  So it translates to “Lower Novgorod.”  I believe that not only a Russian, but a very uncreative Russian came up with that name.  It’s like Virginia and West Virginia.  What were they thinking?

14 Comments

  1. I, like some people, hate children and would never attempt to raise one. If I did, I would name it after that town in Russia.

  2. I totally just added a comma to your comment.
    I have no idea how to pronounce that; it’d be horrible if a kid had a name even his parents couldn’t pronounce. I can see some Indian cities on my map that beat that, though: Vishakhapatnam and Thiruvananthapuram. And apparently one of the capitals of Sri Lanka is Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte.
    “Who are you, kid?”
    “My name is Thiruvananthapuram and I’m from Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte.”
    “You must be a space alien! Don’t kill me!”

  3. Judging people gets you nowhere, but you do have to be wary of aliens.

  4. Judging people put you at the top of the social food chain! Stereotypes divide the strong from the weak! We must judge people! We must stomp on the heads of the dumb people and football jocks! It is the duty of the largest class, “The Outsiders.” Mwahahaha!

  5. The social food chain? Wow. Man, you’ve got your priorities screwed. What happened to world domination? Hey, like they say… you either go big or go home.

  6. I’m working my way up to world domination. It’s a multi-step plan.

  7. What is the next step? If you ever need an evil, orange cat for any of your plans that potentially involve immolation… I’ve got one.

    (And yes, that was lame, but I still went there.)

  8. Did I not show you my simple 15-step plan for world domination?

  9. No.

  10. Remind to do that sometime, if I can find it.

  11. Oh gosh, oh boy I cannot wait. Major levels of suspense dude.

  12. As I expected…

  13. You mean you didn’t know?
    Lower Novgorod is actually a circle of hell. Hope that clears things up.

  14. But Russia is cold.


Leave a Reply

